Cronica Records News

New Release: Piotr Kurek’s “Lectures” Cd. Click For Infos.‏NEW RELEASE: PIOTR KUREK’S “LECTURES” CD

“Lectures” was initially composed in 2007 for a live performance in Warsaw, during a Cornelius Cardew music festival that was part of the series of events “Zakrzywienia Igły”, organized by Michał Libera. The original idea was to perform Cardew’s pieces but this later evolved towards an improvisation based on sounds appropriated from various Cardew recordings, complemented by additional instruments. With the help from Walter Cardew, the composer’s son, Kurek was also able to use unreleased recordings from lectures, performances and rehearsals conducted by Cardew, and recorded for private use. This release presents a further development of the pieces composed for the live performance, inspired by Cornelius Cardew and his lectures.

Piotr Kurek is a Polish composer and musician, working and living in Warsaw, born in 1978. Piotr Kurek studied classical piano and played drums but is most known from his activity in dance theatre and electronic music. Co-founder of ever changing project Ślepcy, emerged in the late 90’s, he collaborated with various record labels including Ambush (London), Kool.POP (Berlin), Cock Rock Disco (Berlin), Klangkrieg (Berlin) and Unknown Public (London) with whom he released his solo music for theatre. Enthusiastic collector of all-size instruments and vintage studio equipment.



01 Part I
02 Ways Of Making Sounds
03 No Mistake
04 Part II
05 Cardboard Cups
06 Tripartite
07 1963
08 Questions
09 Go Up
10 Players


The CD is now available directly from Crónica, through Boomkat or Zero Inch.


For more information on Crónica’s releases and events, go to

Subscribe the RSS feed at to find all the news from releases, performances or whatever else may be worth of notice.